Board of Civil Authority

The Board of Civil Authority consists of 12 Justices of the Peace split between Republicans and Democrats, the Selectboard, and the Town Clerk.


The term of a Justice begins on February 1st of the year following the General Election and runs two years.


The primary responsibility is to conduct elections; preside on election days to run the polls, verify checklists and voters, and count votes.  The BCA also hears, investigates, and decides tax appeals and tax abatement hearings.


Justices of the Peace: 

James Bianca
Jack Brigham
Diane Lareau
Carol Livingston
Roger Luneau
David McWilliams
Cathy Montagne
Joseph Montcalm
Gerald Morong
William Nihan
Al Voegele
Stephen Trahan