Boards & Minutes

Lois McClure The officials, both elected and appointed, that serve the Town of St. Albans are a very dedicated group of individuals who put a lot of time and effort into serving our community.  We are all committed to providing a high level of service and exceeding your expectations at all times.

The Town of St. Albans is governed by an elected five member Selectboard.  In turn, the Selectboard employs the services of a Town Manager who serves as the administrative officer of the community and reports directly to the Selectboard.  The Town Manager directs the daily activities of the town employees, ensuring that the policies of the Selectboard and the Town of St. Albans are carried out according to the will of the Selectboard.

If you are interested in becoming involved in the Town there are several ways in which you can serve.  There are various  committees appointed by the Selectboard in which all Town residents are encouraged to become involved with.  Residents are also encouraged to attend committee and board meetings as your input is extremely valuable to the Town.

For further information please contact the Carrie Johnson, Town Manager at (802) 524-7589, Ext. 106 or email

Town Boards & Commissions

This is a five member elected board.  There are three members elected for a three year term and two members elected for a two year term on a staggered basis.  Responsibilities of the board include writing general policy and ordinances, town planning, reviewing the budget, setting the tax rate, overseeing the Town Manager as well as a wide variety of other related tasks.  The Selectboard meets on the 1st and 3rd Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m.

The Planning Commission is comprised of five appointed members who serve three year terms.  The Planning Commission is responsible for; preparing and presenting the 5 year Town Plan, new or revised bylaws, land use and zoning regulations and the Capital Budget and Program for Selectboard approval.  The Planning Commission meets the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of every month at 6:30 p.m.

The Development Review Board is a 7 member board appointed by the Selectboard for three year terms on a staggered basis.  The DRB has scheduled meetings held on the 2nd and 4th Thursday of every month when warranted and start at 6:30 p.m.  All hearings before the DRB require warning a Public Hearing at least 15 days in advance of the hearing. The DRB is responsible for reviewing applications for Conditional Use, Variance, Site Plan, Subdivision, Sketch Plan, Final Plat, Appeals, Planned Residential Developments, Right-of-Way etc.

The Board of Civil Authority consists of 12 Justices of the Peace split between Republicans and Democrats, the Selectboard, and the Town Clerk.  The term of a Justice begins on February 1st of the year following the General Election and runs two years.  The primary responsibility is to conduct elections; preside on election days to run the polls, verify checklists and voters, and count votes.  The BCA also hears, investigates, and decides tax appeals and tax abatement hearings.